4 Facts You Might Not Know About Tequila

Here are 4 things you might not know about tequila. 1st, all the tequila in the world is made in a region about the size of Tennessee, mostly near Jalisco, but parts of four other Mexican states are allowed by law to make tequila. 2nd, it's called tequila because in the mid 1700s, the town of Tequila was one of the first places to make it.

So if things were just a bit different back in the day, we might call this beverage Amatitan or some other place name instead of tequila. 3rd, all tequila is gluten-free, so it's redundant and unnecessary to say so on the label. 4th, the number changes, but there's approximately 190-200 distilleries that make tequila.

Some of them make a lot of different brands and some of them like Siete Leguas make just one brand. What is your favorite tequila fact? Let me know in the comments.

Back to blog